Legendary music and entertainment producer Bob Ezrin (Canada/USA) and award-winning author and essayist John Ralston Saul (Canada) join the international jury panel for the Tenth Glenn Gould Prize.  Mr. Ezrin and Mr. Saul will deliberate together with screenwriter and director Deepa Mehta (Canada); singer-songwriter, poet and artist Patti Smith (United States); entrepreneur, arts philanthropist and longtime advisor to the London Symphony Orchestra Sir David Tang (Hong Kong); and one of opera’s leading tenors Rolando Villazón (Mexico/France).  The Jury will be chaired by Paul Hoffert, CM (Canada).  

L-R: Bob Ezrin; Deepa Mehta; John Ralston Saul; Patti Smith; Sir David Tang; Rolando Villazón; Paul Hoffert

Earlier this month, actor and director Alan Rickman had to withdraw from The Glenn Gould Prize Jury due to an unforeseen schedule conflict.  The international arts community also mourned the loss of Montreaux Jazz Festival founder Claude Nobs – slated to be on The Glenn Gould Prize jury – whose passing resulted from an injury sustained in a skiing accident.  

The winner of the Tenth Glenn Gould Prize will be announced at a public news conference on Thursday, February 21, 2013 at Toronto’s Sony Centre for the Performing Arts. 

Later that evening on the Sony Centre stage, the Jurors will be honoured at a celebration gala dinner with host Jian Ghomeshi from CBC Radio and featuring a new dance work, Sleepless Night, performed to Gould's recording of the Goldberg Variations, choreographed and performed by Andrea Nann and Brendan Wyatt (Dreamwalker Dance Company) and a performance by 14-year-old piano sensation Anastasia Rizikov

Tickets for the celebration gala dinner are now on sale.  Click here to purchase.

The Glenn Gould Foundation is honoured to announce that Mrs. Laureen Harper will also be in attendance to address the guests at the gala dinner. 

Click here to read the full press release.