Select Page

Laureate to be announced February 21

Toronto, ON (January 31, 2013) – Legendary music and entertainment producer Bob Ezrin (Canada/USA) and award-winning author and essayist John Ralston Saul (Canada) join the international jury panel for the Tenth Glenn Gould Prize.  Mr. Ezrin and Mr. Saul will deliberate together with screenwriter and director Deepa Mehta (Canada); singer-songwriter, poet and artist Patti Smith (United States); entrepreneur, arts philanthropist and longtime advisor to the London Symphony Orchestra Sir David Tang (Hong Kong); and one of opera’s leading tenors Rolando Villazón (Mexico/France).  The Jury will be chaired by Paul Hoffert, CM (Canada).  

An international symbol of creative excellence, The Glenn Gould Prize – which has been referred to as “The Nobel Prize of the Arts” – is awarded biennially to a living individual for a unique lifetime contribution that has enriched the human condition through the arts.  A tribute to Glenn Gould’s artistry and his multifaceted contributions to culture, the prize promotes the vital connection between artistic excellence and the transformation of lives.  

The winner of the Tenth Glenn Gould Prize will be announced at a news conference on Thursday, February 21, 2013 at Toronto’s Sony Centre for the Performing Arts.  Later that evening on the Sony Centre stage, the Jurors will be honoured at a celebration gala dinner with host Jian Ghomeshi from CBC Radio and featuring a new dance work, Goldberg Variations, choreographed by Andrea Nann (Dreamworks Dance Company) and a performance by 14-year-old piano sensation Anastasia Rizikov.  Tickets for the celebration gala dinner are now on sale at or by calling 416.962.6200. 

The Glenn Gould Foundation is honoured to announce that Mrs. Laureen Harper will also be in attendance to address the guests. 

Earlier this month, actor and director Alan Rickman had to withdraw from The Glenn Gould Prize Jury due to an unforeseen schedule conflict.  The international arts community also mourned the loss of Montreaux Jazz Festival founder Claude Nobs – slated to be on The Glenn Gould Prize jury – whose passing resulted from an injury sustained in a skiing accident.  

The winner of the Glenn Gould Prize receives $50,000 (CAD) and the Glenn Gould Prize statue by Canadian artist Ruth Abernethy.  The winner chooses an outstanding young artist who embodies the qualities of creative promise, innovation and career potential demonstrated by Gould in his youth to receive The City of Toronto Glenn Gould Protégé Prize of $15,000 (CAD). The laureate’s work is honoured through a series of public events presented within the year. 

Past laureates include Leonard Cohen (2011), Dr. José Antonio Abreu (2008) founder of El Sistema, Pierre Boulez (2002), Yo-Yo Ma (1999), Oscar Peterson (1993) and Lord Yehudi Menuhin (1990).

About the Glenn Gould Foundation

The Glenn Gould Foundation honours Glenn Gould’s spirit and legacy by celebrating brilliance, promoting creativity and transforming lives through the power of music and the arts with the Foundation’s signature activities, including The Glenn Gould Prize.  For more information visit 


Media Contact:

Karen Lorenowicz, KL Strategic Communications